​Ijaw Youths Decides Today: Get Gist Of How The Election Is Ongoing At Oporoza 

By Binebai Princewill

The Ijaw Youth Council (IYC) Worldwide 2020 Electoral Committee, headed by Barr. Bekewei Ajuwa is currently conducting elections into the various offices of council at Oporoza, traditional headquarters of Gbaramatu Kingdom in Warri South West Local Government Area of Delta State. The Liberator Newspaper can report

The process began last night with an elective convention massively attended by Ijaw Youths Worldwide and leaders across board where series of burning issues was tabled and discussed holistically by the youths. 

The resolution after looking at several matters in council and how the 7th national executives operated, the convention agreed that no Ijaw Youth should ever take council to court as anyone who does so stands to be expelled from being member or whatsoever in IYC. 

Recommended For You

However, after the marathon convention, the Electoral Committee began the election process with  the accreditation of delegates (voters), candidates, observers and agents for the election to commence. 

At the time of filling this report, manifestos of candidates is ongoing at the Royal Pavilion at Oporoza in Gbaramatu Kingdom, Delta State. 

The security situation is calm and peaceful as the Chief Boro Opudu led security committee is working hard to ensure that it remains peaceful.

Some notable lYC leaders present at the venue include; the pioneer President of IYC, Dr. Felix Tuodolor, Elder T.K. Ogoriba, Pioneer President Movement for the survival of the Ijaw Ethnic nationality in the Niger Delta, ( MOSIEND), High Chief. Alabo Nengi James, former acting President and founder IYC, Elder Wenibowei Mike, Chairman Elders Council Central Zone, High Chief. Richman Yinbiri, major stakeholder IYC, former presidents of IYC, Barr, Eric Omare and Barr. Roland Oweilaemi, Comrade Austin Ozobo, National President IPDI, Chief. Kalaiti Jephtah Obadiah 1, outgoing Treasurer INC, Chief. Daniel Ekpebide, former Asst. Secretary INC, Chief. Oyeinfie. E. Jonjon, former President IYC, Delta State Civil Society Community Observing and Monitoring Team led by Comrade Rex Anighoro among others too numerous to mention.

This is a developing story, more details later…………….

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: