22 Civil Society Groups Meets In Delta, Vows To Protest Hike In Fuel, Electricity Tariff 

By Binebai Princewill 

Not less than 22 Civil Society Groups met in Warri on Sunday, Uvwie Local Government Area of Delta State to notify the Federal Government of Nigeria to reverse their decision on the hike in the prices of fuel and electricity tariff.

The groups made their position known via a communique signed by leaders of the 22 civil society organisations, a copy of which was sent to The Liberator Newspaper. 

The communique had particularly given the Federal Government of Nigeria from now till 28th of September to reverse their decision on the subject matter above or face massive protest from Nigerians. 

The groups had alerted the Federal Government of Nigeria that the planned peaceful protest will be the mother of all protests in Nigeria, stressing that arrangements are on top gear with respect to mobility and other crucial things regarding the protest. 

The communique accused the Federal Government of Nigeria of being insensitive to the plights of Nigerians, fuming that the hike in Fuel and electricity tariff remains condemnable and should be reversed with immediate effect. 

While tackling other issues, the communique had also rejected the Water Resource Bill, describing it a time bomb that may lead to another round economic downturn in Nigeria. 

The communique reads in full below:

A communique of the meeting by a Coalition of Civil Society Organizations against  hike in electricity tariff and fuel pump Price

Rising from a meeting of Nigerian youths comprising of human right activists, leaders from different fronts and civil society organizations on Saturday converged at Effurun Delta State to reach a unanimous decision for a peaceful protest against the hike in fuel and electricity prices.

The protest became necessary as a means to creatively engage the government towards being sensitive to the suffering of Nigerians.

In a meeting that was presided over by Bar. Omes Ogedegbe, Comr Israel Joe, Ozobo Austin and other civil society group leaders reached  a unanimous decision to commence the protest on the 28th September 2020.

The Peaceful protest against government inconsiderate policies is aimed at notifying the Nigerian Federal Government that; fuel, electricity tariff hike and the water resources Bill will stifle the economy and worsen the economic woes of Nigerians.

Nigerians deserve economic, political and social independence and the government should revert downward the electricity and fuel hike.

Important plans such as take-off point, logistics, security were addressed as well as the implementation of strategies, to make it the mother of all national protest.

The take off point is from DSC roundabout to Efurun roundabout of the East-West federal government road.

All participants in the protest area on a patriotic and solidarity front to seek better government policies for all Nigerians.

The coalition hereby issues the federal government an ultimatum to reverse the price of fuel and electricity tariff before 28th of September 2020 or contend with the Nigerian masses.


1. Omes Ogedegbe, DG conference for the actualization of human right, CAHR.

2. Comrade Joe Isreal 


3. Hon.Comrade Ozobo Austin president, Ijaw People’s Development Initiative, IPDI.

4. Comrade Efemena Omukoro ,Youth president Uhrobo Progress Union, Union

Recommended For You

5. Comrade Ibebe Rufus Akpobome

Director General

Youth Emancipation Movement of Africa (YEM AFRICA)

6. Amb. Ugagaoghene Oghenenyore

Director General

Revive Africa Initiative

7. Comrade Emmanuel Aregbor

8. Comrade Dennis Agori

Africa Global Youths Foundation (AGYF)

9. Comrade Emmanuel Agbobi 


10. Comrade Monday Enudi, Delta state Director of conference for the actualization of human right.

11. Comrade Kagbala Ezekiel, Focalpoint reports

12. Comrade God’stime O.J

13. Comrade Adjarho Jonathan U

14. Comrade Moses Ukere Eminado

15. Comrade Emonena Jeremiah

16. Comrade Steven Luke

17. Comrade Atiku Sunday

18. Comrade On Mnative I.

19. Comrade Lucky Emabeyere

20. Comrade Arigbe Isreal

21. Comrade Nikoro Amary

22. Comrade Igho Ogedegbe

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: