Just-In: Ijaw Youths Decides As Peter Emerges 8th President Of Council 

Olali, Pukon, Obiri, Tina, Ekerefe, others constitutes new IYC Executive 

By Binebai Princewill

At Oporoza, the traditional headquarters of Gbaramatu Kingdom in Warri South West Local Government Area of Delta State, Ijaw Youths have decided by electing its 8th national Executive Council of the revered Ijaw Youth Council (IYC) Worldwide today. 

The Liberator Newspaper can report that Comr. Peter Timothy has been elected the 8th president general of the revered Ijaw Youth Council (IYC) Worldwide to pilot the affairs of council together with his executive members for the next three years. 

It would be recalled that Comr. Peter Timothy pulled a total of forty two(42) votes against his closest rival, Mr. Ala who got thirty one (31) votes  to emerged the new President elect of the 2020 IYC election. 

Recommended For You

However, Comr. Savior Olali was also elected deputy President of IYC Worldwide  with forty five votes against his closest rival, Mr Harry who got twenty three votes.

Other elected officials include, Rt. Hon. Frank Pukon (Secretary General), Comr. Ebilade Ekerefe (Spokesman),Comr. Israel Fubara (Director of Mobilization), Barr. Obiri Ebilade (Legal Adviser), Comrade Tina Tobusi (Women Leader), Comr. Ofiyou Ogbofini Dennis (Asst. Director of Mobilization), Comr. Timilaemi Ebifuobo (Treasurer), Comr. Abiye (Financial Secretary) among others.

The elections which took place at Oporoza, the headquarters of Gbaramatu kingdom in Warri South West Local Government Area of Delta State, on the 18th and 19th July, 2020 was described as very peaceful, credible, transparent, free and fair by observers who monitored the exercise.

The Liberator Newspaper can report that the process began last night with an elective convention massively attended by Ijaw Youths Worldwide and leaders across board where series of burning issues was tabled and discussed holistically by the youths. 

The resolution after looking at several matters in council and how the 7th national executives operated, the convention agreed that no Ijaw Youth should ever take council to court as anyone who does so stands to be expelled from being member or whatsoever in IYC. 

Some notable lYC leaders present at the election include; the pioneer President of IYC, Dr. Felix Tuodolor, Elder T.K. Ogoriba, Pioneer President Movement for the survival of the Ijaw Ethnic nationality in the Niger Delta, ( MOSIEND), High Chief. Alabo Nengi James, former acting President and founder IYC, Elder Wenibowei Mike, Chairman Elders Council Central Zone, High Chief. Richman Yinbiri, major stakeholder IYC, former presidents of IYC, Barr, Eric Omare and Barr. Roland Oweilaemi, Comrade Austin Ozobo, National President IPDI, Chief. Kalaiti Jephtah Obadiah 1, outgoing Treasurer INC, Chief. Daniel Ekpebide, former Asst. Secretary INC, Chief. Oyeinfie. E. Jonjon, former President IYC, Delta State Civil Society Community Observing and Monitoring Team led by Comrade Rex Anighoro among others too numerous to mention.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: