Thu. Apr 15th, 2021

OKYC elects new leadership in Ogulagha Kingdom – The Liberator 

By Binebai Princewill
Reports reaching the news desk of The Liberator Newspaper suggested that the apex youth body in Oil rich Ogulagha Kingdom, Burutu Local Government Area of Delta State have elected some officials in the Ogulagha Kingdom Youth Council, OKYC.
This was contained in a statement issued to newsmen in Warri earlier today, signed by the trio of Comr. Anthony Waterwei, President Ogulagha Youth Association;
Comr. Denyefa Torke, Secretary general Ogulagha Youth Association and Comr. Kennedy Diribiwei, a copy of which was sent to The Liberator Newspaper.
According to them, election into the Ogulagha Kingdom Youth Council, OKYC leadership is usually zoned to communities constituting the kingdom, stressing that the President, Assistant Secretary and Sport Director has been zoned to Ogulagha community, traditional headquarters of the Kingdom.
The statement added that election into the various offices into OKYC was conducted at the Ogulagha Kingdom Community Secretariat on Monday 3rd of February 2020.
However, the statement noted that two persons from Ogulagha community contested for the presidential position which include Mr. Johnson Inaibo who pulled 28 votes against his rival Mr. Ofoumenegha Pepper that scored 7 votes.

On the assistant secretary position, Engr. Amakazi Rufus was elected unopposed, stating that chairman of the electoral Commitee, Comr. Tare Peanock declared Comr. Johnson Inaibo, President elect of OKYC haven scored the highest votes in the keenly contested election as well as Engr. Amakazi Rufus who was elected unopposed.

They asserted that the tenure of the current leadership, headed by Hon. Justice Timiadi Akuna will come to an end on the 11th of February 2020.

Comr. Anthony Okilo Waterwei President Ogulagha youth association said: “I want to use this medium in thanking the Executive Chairman of Ogulagha community Mr. Johnbull Ogobiri, Elders forum, Ogulagha community, The Security agencies; The DPO Burutu LGA, DSS Burutu LGA, The Navy OIC, The Army Intelligent officer Forcados Terminal, the Seven (7) quarter Chairman Ogulagha community, the Women Executive, Ogulagha Community, the Executive Chairman Burutu Local Government Council Hon. Godknows Angele, the Councillor Representing ward 19 Hon. Gbabojor Guwor and Ogulagha kingdom Opinion leaders for their support in creating the enabling environment for the smooth process”

Recommended For You

The Ogulagha community youth president charged all the youths to be law abiding and become ambassadors of peace in their respective pursuit to fast track the needed development in the various communities and kingdom at large.

Meanwhile, when contacted, Hon. Timiadi Akuna, President Ogulagha Kingdom Youth Council, OKYC in order to hear his own side of the story, he said whatsoever election that is said to have been conducted is purely illegal as he remains the President of OKYC.

President Akuna noted that the matter is already in court as he will not join issues with any group of people trying to cause problem in the Kingdom.

The message sent to The Liberator Newspaper reads: “HCB/21/2019; HON TIMIADI JUSTICE AKUNA VS MR. WATERWEI ANTHONY OKILO & ANOR (for themselves and any other person in Ogulagha Kingdom Youth Council that may support them)”.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: