OML42: Okowa Restores Peace Between Host Communities, Oil Companies in Delta 

The Delta State Governor, His Excellency, Sen. Dr. Ifeanyi A. Okowa has restored peace among oil producing communities and multinational oil companies, the Nigerian Petroleum Development Company, NPDC and NECONDE in the state.

The Liberator Newspaper can report that, the landmark achievement of peace in the area was followed by a marathon meeting presided over by the Delta State Commissioner for Oil & Gas, Chief Emman Ambgaduba at the Government Annex in Warri yesterday.

It would be recalled that there had been a frosty relationship between host communities, NPDC and NECONDE in OML42 over varying degrees of disagreement ranging from alleged neglect meted out on the host communities by the oil companies, failure to live up to their responsibilities, employment, non payment of outstanding entitlements, among other issues.

Recommended For You

It was learnt that the alleged parasitic relationship led to the shutting down of the OML42 flowstations in Delta State since on Thursday 15th of August 2019.
Addressing the press shortly after the meeting, the Delta State Commissioner for Oil and Gas, Chief Emman Ambgaduba had noted that the meeting was a success, stating that His Excellency, Sen. Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa was disturbed over the issue, hence he sent him personally to address the matter.

He had particularly appreciated the host communities for listening to the Delta State Government and the oil companies by accepting to do the needful.
Nevertheless, while the host communities have agreed to on the flowstations, they had noted that it would not tolerate any form of parasitic relationship from the oil companies operating in the area as all money due them should be given to them without delay.

Meanwhile, NPDC, NECONDE and other companies operating in area had agreed to pay more attention to their host communities, stressing that their demands will be looked into within the shortest period of time.

Some of the communities that attended the meeting include
Kokodiagbene, Okerenkoko, Omadino, Ekpemu.

The other communities are Odidi,Kantu,Batan,Gbokodo Itsekiri and Ajuju communities. All the communities are in Warri South West local government area, Delta state.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: