May 29th: Okowa dissolves Governing boards of agencies, parastatals, extra-ministerial departments

 LThe Governor of Delta State, Sen. Dr. Ifeanyi A. Okowa has dissolved Governing boards of agencies, parastatals, extra-ministerial departments few days to his innauguration.

This was contained in a Government special announcement, released to media houses in Asaba, a copy of which was sent to The Liberator Newspaper signed by Hon. Festus Ovie Agas, Secretary to the State Government.

The statement read in full bellow:




It is hereby announced for the information of the general public that following the dissolution of the Delta State Executive Council (EXCO) with effect from 24th May, 2019, His Excellency, the Governor, has also approved the dissolution of the following Commissions, Parastatals and Agencies: 

(i)                Local Government Service Commission;

(ii)              Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (DESOPADEC);

(iii)            Governing Council of College of Education, Warri;

(iv)            Governing Council of College of Education, Agbor;

(v)              Governing Council of School of Health Technology, Ofuoma;

(vi)            Governing Council of School of Marine Technology;

(vii)          Governing Council of Institute of Continuing Education

(viii)        Delta State Hospitals Management Board;

Recommended For You

(ix)            Delta State Library Board;

(x)              Christian Pilgrim Welfare Board;

(xi)            Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board;

(xii)          Board of the Agency for Adult and Non-Formal Education;

(xiii)        Delta State Tourism Board;

(xiv)        Delta State Urban Water Board;

(xv)          Delta Broadcasting Services Board;

(xvi)        Delta State Arts Council;

(xvii)      Land Allocation Committee;

(xviii)    Delta State Bursary Board;

(xix)        Delta State University Teaching Hospital Board;

(xx)          Delta State Rural Water Supply and Environmental Sanitation Agency; and

(xxi)        Direct Labour Agency (DLA).

  1.        Similarly, Political Appointees, other than Chairmen/Members of the above mentioned agencies are affected by this directive which takes effect from today, 27th May, 2019.
  2.        Accordingly, all affected political appointees are to handover all Government properties in their possession to the Permanent Secretaries/the most senior civil servants in the respective Government Agencies/Parastatals/Offices.
  3.        I am to convey the appreciation of His Excellency, the Governor to all affected political appointees for their contributions to the development of Delta State in the past four years and to wish them success in their future endeavours.

Hon. Festus Ovie Agas

Secretary to the State Government

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: