Buhari Appoints Seven New Ministers To Replace Amaechi, Akpabio, Others

President Muhammadu Buhahri has appointed seven new ministers and reshuffled his cabinet.

This was confirmed at the ongoing Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting at the Presidential Villa in Abuja.

Buhari also swore in the seven ministers recently screened and confirmed by the Senate.

The first batch to be sworn in were; Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh – Abia State, Umana Okon Umana – Akwa Ibom State, Odum Odih – Rivers State and Ademola Adegoroye – Ondo State.

The second batch included Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub – Kano State, Goodluck Nnana Opiah – Imo State and Egwumakama Joseph Nkama – Ebonyi State.

Few moments before the swearing in, a minute’s silence was observed in honour of Mohammed Barkindo, the 4th Secretary-General of the Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), who died at the age of 63, Tuesday night.

The portfolios of the new ministers are: Umana Okon Umana, Minister of Niger Delta Affairs; Gbemisola Saraki – Minister of State, Mines and Steel Development; Dr Olorunimbe Mamora – Minister of Science and Technology; Sharon Ikeazor, Minister of State, Niger Delta Affairs and Muazu Jaji Sambo; Minister of Transportation.
Others were Umar Ibrahim El Yakub; Minister of State, Works and Housing; Goodluck Nanah Opiah; Minister of state, Education; Ekumankama Joseph Nkama; Minister of State, Health; Ikoh Henry Ikechukwu, Minister of State, Science and Technology; Odum Udi, Minister of State, Environment and Ademola Adewole Adegoroye- Minister of State, Transportation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *