Former Minister of Police Affairs and Leader of the Delta Ijaw for Governor 2023 Lobby Team, Alaowei Broderick Bozimo has said the Ijaw nation cannot be ambushed politically in a bid to shut them out of their 2023 Delta State governorship quest after the successful end of the tenure of the incumbent Governor Ifeanyi Okowa.

Alaowei Bozimo spoke seperately when he led a high powered delegation of notable Ijaw sons and daughters to Ika South and Ika North East Local Government Areas of Delta State in continuation of the group’s consultative visit to political leaders, elders, stakeholders, traditional rulers and ethnic nationalities among others across the State.

He said the Ijaw nation was quite unhappy over the manner the issue of zoning was raised at the PDP Delta State caucus meeting that took place in Asaba prior to the PDP Mega Rally as there was no notice that the issue of zoning was going to be discussed describing it as a political ambush.

“The Ijaw people cannot be shut out,we believe in inclusive government,we believe in the PDP because it is a people oriented party…I can’t imagine a situation where they would have prevented the Ijaw nation that we could not field a candidate”.

“We don’t want ambush, to say it is only the Urhobos that should contest amount to changing the goal post in the middle of the game”. It is better that we all go to the field to test our popularity and not for any zone to pretend that they are anointed, we will not tolerate that anointing, it must be a level play field for the Ijaw nation”.

Bozimo added….Urhobos have always contested every governorship primaries and to imagine that the ijaw nation will be excluded, people who have been loyal to the state, loyal to Nigeria, especially loyal to the Governor….to be shut out from a level playing contest would have been a disaster for the state and country”.

The Former Minister noted that …..”as you know, Governor Okowa is our son, when the contest was tough in 2014, it was the Ijaws that made the difference,we did not run away from our son…we have made a commitment for the Governor to finish strong…we are very loyal people and we demonstrated our loyalty in 2014 when the Ijaw nation stood for Senator Okowa…”.

“When we voted for Ibori we did not make any commitment,we voted for Uduaghan there was no commitment and the ijaws supported Senator Okowa….our loyalty has never been questioned and we demonstrated it profusely when we stood devotedly for Senator Okowa…”.

Earlier, the Chairman of the People’s Democratic Party PDP, Ika South Local Government Area, Honourable Jude Onyia who spoke at the party Secretariat in Agbor on behalf of the leaders, elder and stakeholders said that Governor Ifeanyi Okowa is the leader of the party and the people will follow his decision and political directive on the 2023 governorship contest wishing the ijaws well in their governorship quest.

In Ika North East, a former member of the defunct Bendel State House of Assembly and member of the Delta State Advisory and Peace Building Council, Chief Ignatius Agibi thanked the Ijaw nation for their unalloyed support to Governor Ifeanyi Okowa, adding that the stability and peace witnessed in the state can be largely attributed to the cooperation of the Ijaw people.

“… you are our friend and you will remain so….we have always maintained that where the Governor goes there we will all go, we know our friends,we don’t need to talk too much…”.

Chief Agibi noted..”you asked for a level playing field, it is a legitimate and proper ,we will cooperate with the governor to ensure that there is fairness, justice and fair play”.

The Delta Ijaw for Governor 2023 delegation were the Leader,Alaowei Broderick Bozimo, Barr. (Mrs.) Joyce Bozimo, Hon.Oboro Preyor  Deputy Majority Leader DTHA, Dr Barry Pere Gbe, Commissioner for Economic Planning, Chief J.T Government, Chairman, Governoring Board, Delta State School of Marine Technology Burutu , Honourable Tonye Timi, Former Member DTHA,Barrister Newworld Safugha,fromer Commissioner for Energy and Local Government Affairs,  Hon. Collins Olorogun  SSA to the  Governor,  Hon.Joel Bisina PhD, Head of Secretariat, Delta Ijaw for Governor 2023 and Hon. David Ekerokosu,former Commissioner for Oil and Gas, Barrister Eric Omare, Former President IYC and Barrister Fred Owotorufa.

Others are Mr Ekenwan Akwagbe, Com. Moses Fiyebo, Prof. R.K Moruku, Dr. Broderick Tumbo,  Chief Johnny Aribogha, Amb. Augustine Okporu, Chief Wellington Bobo, Mrs Poweide Bekes, Hon. John B. Government, S.A  Special Duties to the Governor, Bishop Godwin Soroaye, Hon. Korokorosei Sagbegha, Madam Felicia Gborgbor  Hon.(Mrs) Felicia Orounagha,Comr. Tina Tobusi,  IYC Nat’l Woman Leader,  Hon. Gloria Okubodogha  Hon. Ebi Agbor,  Comr. Ayapaye Brenda, Mr. Funebi Numupeide, Hon. Allan Egbegi,  Chief Earnest Tobi and Barrister Charles Mutu among others.

The PDP Leaders,Elders and Stakeholders that received the Ijaw team were the Ika South PDP Chairman,Mr Jude Onyia,former Speaker DatHA,Rt.Hon Martin Okonta, Honourable Tatabuzuogwu , Chairman Ika South Local Government Council,Mr Chris Ogala, Mrs Amaka Egboro, Hon. Cosmas Igbenijie, Chief Emmanuel Tibi, Barr. Victor Okoh and Mr. Ngozi Emioma.

Others are Hon. Andrew Obiazi, Hon. Patience Onyesom, Dr. Chkwuma Nwaonicha, Chief Phillip Okwada, Mr. Adulphus Onwuemerie, Hon. Patience Agboma Vice Chairman Ika South Local Government Council,Mr. Patrick Nwaoga, Barr. I.K Kalikwu, Mr. Chiedu Ebie, represented, Engr. Ijeoma Buzugbe, Mr. Martins Ukpere, Mrs Vero Osansande, Hon. Friday Nahioma, Mr. Edwin Okoh, Mrs Bridget Orubor, Hon. Cordilia Anyangwu,Chairman Delta State House of Assembly Service Commission and Pastor Phillip Oruboshi among others.

The Ika North East PDP Leaders and Elders that received the Ijaw delegation in Boji Boji Owa were the PDP Chairman,Hon Chucks Agbomah, Chief Godwin Ogadi,former PDP Chairman,Ika North East,Mr Charles  Aniagwu, Commissioner for Information,Barrister Eugene Uzum,Director General,Bureau for Orientation, Mr. Victor Onyisi, Mr Unah Onyisi, Prince Kingsley Efezomor, Hon. Okoh Friday, SSA to  the Governor,  Barr.Victor Ebonka,Chairman,Ika North East Local GovernmentCouncil Frances, Mr Miti Johnbull, Mr. Stephen . A, Chief Kingsley Osajie, Mr Smart Ike, Chief Ignatius Agibi and representatives from the various Wards among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *