How APC’s only female guber flag bearer defeated top Adamawa politicians

All Progressives Congress, APC, governorship primary election in Adamawa State has thrown up surprises after a female senator, Aishatu Binani emerged as the winner of the closely contested primary.

Sen. Binani defeated notable male politicians  of the state which include former Governor, Jibrila Bindow, former EFCC boss, Nuhu Ribadu, a member of the House of Representatives Hon. Abdulrazak Namdas, Former leader in the state Assembly Thelma Wafari and Business Mogul Umar Mustapha who contested with her with a very wide margin to the consternation of all.

She pulled a total of 430 votes, followed by Ribadu who got 288, Mallam Nuhu Ribadu got 288, Sen. Bindow Jibrilla got 103, Hon. Abdulrazak Namdas gannered 94 votes H.E, Umar Mustapha (Otumba) 39 while Wafarniyi Theman Theman scored 21.

Binani becomes the second female to have clinch APC guber primary since the formation of the party after Sen. Aisha Alhasaan set the record in 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *