By Ndu Samuel

It has been said biblically that whatever that has a beginning also have an end hence the bible in the book of Ecclesiastic stated that there is time for everything.This was the case as the Dr. Doubra Collins Okotete led IYC Western Zone constituted the Zonal Electoral Committee (Zeco) for which Comr. Emmanuel Gesikeme Akpule was appointed Chairman of the ZECO to kick-start the Western Zone transition process.

In accordance with the tradition of the Ijaw Youth Council (IYC), the Zeco swung into action and chooses Odimodi in Iduwini Clan, Western Zone to conduct the election.

However, after few months of campaigns from the various aspirants, screening was done for the aspirants and eventually they became candidates, publication of successful candidates, submission of delegates and publication of delegate list was carefully done.

This was followed as delegates, stakeholders and leaders across Ijaw nation were mobilized to Odimodi in Iduwini Clan, Burutu Local Government Area on Tuesday 4th of May 2024.

While the Odimodi community leadership worked closely with the Iduwini Clan Exco of the IYC and the Zonal Electoral Committee for a peaceful atmosphere throughout the election process.

Manifestos from the various candidates commenced exactly 11pm at the Odimodi community guest house on Tuesday 4th of May 2024.This process lasted till 4am in the morning of May 5th 2024 and accreditation of delegates commenced exactly 6am.

Delegates finally voted and below are the Exco members of Western Zone led by Comr. Nicholas Tamara-denyefa Igarama as Chairman.

1. Chairman IYC Western Zone Nicholas Igarama 31 Votes.
2. Vice Chairman 39 Votes Otus Kelly
3. Secretary, Ebi Joshua 40 Votes
4. Samuel Ebiarede Uyodongha , Assistant Secretary 43 Votes.
5. Information Officer, Tare Magbei 41 Votes
6.Ekesman Jeffrey Arereweimi Treasurer 44 Votes
7. Nerisa Pukon Woman Leader 50 Votes
8. Mobilization Officer Shagari Sobo 49 Votes.
9. Bumi 59 Votes for Financial Secretary
10. Yerins Students Rep .

However, Sir Jonathan Lokpobiri Snr, President Ijaw Youth Council (IYC) Worldwide and members of NEC were present to witness the free, fair and credible election.

Immediately after the election, President Jonathan Lokpobiri Snr inaugurated the new Western Zone Exco and all Western Zone Clan structures.