By Ndu Samuel, Asaba

Apex youth leadership in Ogulagha Kingdom under the auspices of Ogulagha Kingdom Youth Council, OKYC has congratulated the duo of Chief Favour Izoukumor and Mr. Spencer Okpoye on their appointments as Executive Director and Commissioner in the Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission, DESOPADEC.

While Chief Favour Izoukumor is appointed as Executive Director in DESOPADEC, Mr. Spencer Okpoye is appointed as the commissioner representing Ijaw Ethnic Nationality, in the Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (DESOPADEC).

The congratulatory message was issued to newsmen in Warri yesterday via a statement, a copy of which was sent to The Liberator Newspapers Worldwide signed by its national president, Comr. Roland Pere-Ebi Dede.

The OKYC president had particularly hailed His Excellency, Sen. Dr. Ifeanyi A. Okowa in collaboration with the Executive Governor of Delta State, His Excellency, Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori for appointing the duo of Chief Favour Izoukumor and Mr. Spencer Okpoye into the DESOPADEC board.

Dede had particularly expressed readiness that the oil rich Ogulagha Kingdom Youths will work with the new DESOPADEC Board.

Meanwhile, Governor Ifeanyi Okowa has while inaugurating the DESOPADEC board had charged the newly constituted Board of the Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (DESOPADEC) to allow communities decide projects of their choice.

Okowa who gave the charge on Friday while inaugurating the Chairman and members of the Board in Asaba said their appointments were well-deserved.

Members of the newly constituted Board are Olorogun John Nani, Chairman; Chief Festus Ochonogor, Managing Director; Mr. Efele Eyewu Nicholas, Executive Director; Mr. Favour Izoukumor, Executive Director; Chief Taleb A. O. Tebite, Executive Director and Mr. Oghenekome Okpobor, Executive Director.

Other members of the Board are Chief Julius Egbedi; Mr. Sylvester Ovbije; Mr. Goru Jonathan Oghenekaro; Mr. Azuka Enebeli; Dr. Charles Olisa; Mrs. Cordelia N. Anyangwu; Mr. Sonny Ofe; Chief Victor Egbo and Mr. Spencer Okpoye.

He said the new Board was a good blend of youth and experience, saying it is gratifying to note that the members are grassroots politicians who have served the PDP and the government in various capacities.

He advised the Board to consult widely with communities to ensure that their needs were met.