Thugs reportedly loyal to Timipre Sylva, the All Progressives Congress governorship candidate in Saturday’s election in Bayelsa State have killed a member of the Peoples Democratic Party.
Sylva is a former governor of the state and ex-Minister of State for Petroleum Resources.
SaharaReporters learnt that thugs allegedly working for the APC killed the youth identified as Berepelenyo George Sibo, at the Independent National Electoral Commission office in Twon-Brass, headquarters of Brass Local Government Area, on Sunday.
Off-season governorship elections were held in Bayelsa, Imo and Kogi states on Saturday; however, they were marred by violence, vote-buying and other irregularities.
Scores of PDP members on Sunday stormed the INEC state headquarters in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa State capital to demand the cancellation of Saturday’s election in some areas.
The PDP protesters called for the outright cancellation of results from areas where elections didn’t hold and where materials were hijacked.
They identified such areas as all the wards in Opu- Nembe (Nembe Bassambiri) in the Nembe Local Government Area.
SaharaReporters reported on Saturday that an ad-hoc INEC staff member and a National Youth Service Corps member were attacked by thugs allegedly working for the APC.
The thugs carted away the election materials and BIVAS machines for Ward 1, Unit 23 located at Onopa in the Yenagoa Local Government Area of the state.
The bag of the corps member was also carted away by the armed thugs.
Confirming the incident, the Unit Agent of the PDP, Wongs Goodhead, said the collation and sorting of votes were ongoing when the armed thugs invaded the unit. He also confirmed that no one was injured in the melee.
Also in Ward 11 of Opume and Emakalakala in the Ogbia local government area of the state, armed APC thugs descended on units 14, 15 and 19 disrupting the election process. But before the process was disrupted, some results had been recorded.
According to the PDP agents in Polling Unit 017, the PDP scored 36 and the APC recorded 9; at Polling Unit 018, the PDP had 47 and the APC had 13 and at Polling Unit 016, the PDP had 44 and the APC had 9.
At Ward 3 in Olodiama community, Southern Ijaw Local Government Area of the state, armed thugs invaded and carted away the original results sheets of units 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 and 19.